train between Malles/Mals and Merano/Meran

Venosta/Vinschgau valley: bike transport shuttle service

During peak hours no bikes can be taken onto to train

To avoid overcrowding on trains serving the highly popular Val Venosta/Vinschgau valley, every year, bicycles are transported not by rail but by road during the summer months: with the help of a shuttle service between Merano/Meran and Malles/Mals. This means that during peak hours (from 9:00 to 13:00 and from 15:00 to 17:30) from 18 June until 30 September, no bikes can be taken onto the train going towards Malles/Mals by passengers departing from the stations of Merano/Meran, Lagundo/Algund or Marlengo/Marling. If there is sufficient demand, bike shuttle services may continue until 17 October. Stay tuned for more info.

In the period from 18 June to 30 June (and possibly from 1 to 17 October) the bike transport shuttles leave the train station of Merano/Meran:

  • at 9:16 and 10:16 every morning
  • and at 16:16 and 17:16 every afternoon.

In July, August and September the bike transport shuttles leave the train station of Merano/Meran:

  • at 9:16, 10:16 and 11:16 every morning
  • and at 15:16, 16:16 and 17:16 every afternoon.

Bikes can be dropped off at the station of Merano/Meran 30 minutes before the shuttle leaves. They can be picked up from the train stations of Naturno/Naturns, Laces/Latsch, Silandro/Schlanders, Spondigna/Spondinig and Malles/Mals.

The tickets and costs for the bike shuttle service are the same as for taking a bike on the train: a day pass for transporting bikes (EUR 7) or a simple check-in with a Südtirol Pass (EUR 3.50 for a full day). Bike shuttle service tickets are available from any ticket counter or directly at the shuttle departure point.

Larger groups can book additional bike transport shuttle service runs by calling +39 0473 201500 between 08:00 and 19:00. (photo: IDM/Trovati)

Receive push notifications

Receive notifications for your preferred stops, routes and lines. These settings can be deactivated at any time in your browser.